Seeing STARS

Star  They say practice makes perfect – these little stars are far from perfect but I am very impressed with my first live effort into FMQ.  I was planning on doing rows of stars – then after some Googling – reading and practicing – the loopy stars seemed to be the one that really caught my eye and came a little more naturally.  For a first official effort I think they are ok – I used a variegated signature thread which complimented both sides.  I love this train fabric.  It is the 2nd quilt I have made with this fabric.  So beautiful to sew also.  It is called “Just Train crazy” and is from the RJR range.  I still have a little over half the quilt to quilt – it is coming along nicely.  Star

DSCN8877DSCN8874

I can finally show a little project I recently worked on – not my best work – I do know what I have done wrong – so if I choose do a third one it should be much better.  The dark pink one was my first – and ended up slightly uneven, and I also attached the strap inside out, but didn’t notice until it was stuffed and sewn down.  I even added some tem-plastic to the bottom to stop the pins sticking into my wrist, and a little sachet of walnut grounds to help sharpen the pins.  Anyway the better of the 2 was part of a Kris Kringle  Gift with a bow Christmas in July sway I went to last night.  I added a Christmas fat quarter as the pin cushion was not very Christmassy – I did hand piece the hexagons – and machine them to the fabrics.  I must say covering 1 inch elastic – or any elastic is an interesting thing – I have not tackled this since my early dressmaking days – decades ago.  I have not been able to blog this until today so as not to let the cat out the bag.  Gift with a bow

DSCN8867 DSCN8872

My MOTH and the several of the girls MOTHS also attended.  My MOTH also went incognito for a moment or 2 to do the gift swap.  I was the lucky recipient of a gorgeous self grown succulent terrarium and hand stitched doves.  We all enjoyed a fabulous dinner – which we all contributed to.  We were on Turkey duty – and it was yummy, as were all the delicacies.  Our hostess also had little gingham ornaments for everyone, at their place setting – so cute – love gingham it takes me back to my childhood.

The Incognito MOTH and I KK Gift from LH

 Seating gift from our Lovely Hostess

Last but not least – my save the stitches is growing. One stitch at a time.

DSCN8862

Happy Stitching – Debbierose  Red heart

2 thoughts on “Seeing STARS

Leave a Reply

