Save The Stitches – Blackwork Journey – SAL with Liz Almond

After much drooling and thought – I have embarked on the largest Blackwork project I could have selected.   I spied this some time ago – and therefore I am a late starter in this stich along – the good thing – it is a freebie – Thanks to Liz Almond over on http://www.blackworkjourney.co.uk/freebies1.shtml  it is an amazing “unique sampler” containing 131+ blackwork patterns.  Yes 131+

I really like Blackwork – I have been a cross stitcher for over 20 years, and it is only in the last 12-18 months I have branched out into Blackwork – maybe it is the frugal nature of the thread.  The intricate and delicate lace work that is created – anyway it has won my heart.  So I need to thank Claire over on http://claire93.wordpress.com/ for this new craft passion.

I have decided to use various colours instead of just Black.  I have seen one started and changing it around is more me – and it also covers several of the items on my craft pledge list for this year – to start/do a sampler, be part of a SAL, use up my stash, utilise freebies or patters in the stash.  So apart from some printer ink and paper from the MOTH’s stash – ha ha – it is perfect and covers all bases.  Even the metallics are in the stash – so watch this space it grows.

It is on 14 count Aida and will measure – Full design width and height: 14.29 x 29.29 inches or Full pattern width and height: 180 x 380 stitches – I said it was large.

Here is Block 1 – patterns 1-4

Ciao for now – and happy stitching

Debbierose 🙂

Block 1 patterns 1-4

 

5 thoughts on “Save The Stitches – Blackwork Journey – SAL with Liz Almond

  1. it’s lovely! I started this pattern last month, stitched half of Block 1 and realised I’d been working over 1 instead of over 2! I restarted it last night and am determined to get a big chunk done! I’m doing it in the recommended colours, but I really love your colourful version

  2. I saw this SAL too.. I got to wait a little now.. Cos too many SALs going here and u love your color combi.. Will watch ur progress then.. Happy stitching.. 😉

Leave a Reply

